Peg Roberts Service Award


Peg_Roberts_Picture.jpgPeg Roberts
In 1983, the Camden County Chapter of the New Jersey Federation of Democratic Women established the Peg Roberts Award. 

Peg Roberts was a volunteer who gave her time and energy to the Democratic Party to get Democrats elected to public office. Her successful efforts included support of her own son, former NJ Assembly Speaker Joe Roberts, who was elected and served a long and notable career in the State Assembly. The award, in Ms Robert's name, was presented to various women in Camden County until 2000. 

In 2005, the New Jersey Federation of Democratic Women re-established the award on a state-wide level. The Award continues to be a noteworthy acknowledgement of the women who work behind the scenes to get Democrats elected to State office. The recipient is honored at an annual luncheon and her name memorialized on a plaque that hangs proudly at the entrance of the Office of the NJ State Democratic Committee. 

Eligibility for this award includes being an active member of the New Jersey Federation of Democratic Women, a member in good standing in their county chapter, never having held elected office, mentoring a future generation, and 15 years as an active service volunteer in the Democratic Party.

21st Century Award Recipients

2000   Barbara Holcomb

2005  Grace Protomastro - Bergen County

2006  Shirley Dill - Middlesex County
         Hon. Joe Roberts - Camden County

2007  Catherine Murphy, Cape May County
          Anne Zamonski (deceased 2017)

2008  Almeta Honis - Bergen County (deceased 2017)

2009  Lizzie Morris - Burlington County

2010  Irene Burke - Camden County

2011  Helen Gottlieb - Middlesex County

2012  Violet Etler - Bergen County

2013  Amalia “Amy” Papi - Middlesex County

2014  Margaret Martin - Mercer County

2016  Retha Onitiri - Monmouth County
         Nancee May (posthumously) - Burlington

2017  Viola Scott, NJFDW, Treasurer - Burlington County

2018  Lena Paterson Davis - Burlington
          Outstanding Elected Officials:
          Elizabeth Maher Muoio, NJ State Treasurer
          Carol Murphy, Assemblywoman
          Dr Renee Baskerville, Montclair Township Council

2019   Meryl Green - Camden County
           Outstanding Officials:
           Shanel Robinson, Somerset County Freeholder
           Gail Chaneyfield Jenkins, Newark Councilwoman
           Judge Patricia Egan Jones, Camden County

2020.   Covid

2021.   Bessie Walker, Essex County


20th Century Award Recipients

1983   Joan McKenna & Sue Sipple

1984   Mary Keating DiSabato

1985   Sarah Dowling (deceased 2017)

1986   Eleanor Lusk

1987   Marlene Radano

1988   Lynn Kmiec

1989   Barbara Pine

1990   Pat Marshall

1991   Geri Moon

1992   Camden City Mayor, Gwen Faison

1993   Gertrude Reed

1994   Marge Finken

1995   Peg Chinchillo

1996   Teri Horn

1997   Dot Bradley

1998   Pat Jones

1999   Irene Burke